Tuesday, November 14, 2023

African, and African-American Spirituality: A Select Bibliography

(One of my Spiritual Formation classes at Payne Theological Seminary)

What a blessing it is for me to be an Adjunct Faculty member at Payne Theological Seminary

My class is Spiritual Formation. I've been teaching this class for many years at a number of theological seminaries, seminars, workshops, both in the U.S. and in places around the world. Through the years it has been my privilege to instruct many pastoral leaders from Africa, and many African-American pastoral leaders.

Here are books that line my bookshelf, and populate my Kindle, on African and African-American spirituality. 

Michelle Alexander
Lewis Baldwin 
Flora Wilson Bridges

Lewis Brogdon
James Cone (It was my privilege to be one of three teachers at a Transformation Leadership week-long conference. Dr Cone taught, Deotis Roberts taught, and I was given Friday morning and afternoon to wrap the week up. [Thank you Dr Leah Fitchue!])

Frederick Douglass

W.E.B. Dubois
Stephen Ellis and Gerrie Ter Haar
Cain Hope Felder
Walter Fluker

Obery Hendricks (Hendricks is former President of Payne Theological Seminary and currently Prof. of Biblical Interpretation at New York Theological Seminary)
Diana Hayes
Dwight Hopkins
Rufus Matthew Jones, Kerry Walters (Note: the Quaker-mystical theology of Rufus Jones deeply influenced the spirituality of Howard Thurman)
Robert W. Kellemen, Karole A. Edwards
Eric Lincoln

Malcolm X
John Mbiti
Latasha Morrison

Peter Paris
Samuel Proctor

  • My Moral Odyssey (Dr. Charles Brown of Payne Seminary recommended this to me.)

Albert Raboteau
Luther E. Smith
Katrina Dyonne Thompson
Howard Thurman (Thurman, in my mind, is the leading African-American figure in contemporary spirituality, not only writing so profoundly in this area but living out a contemplative and active life of Jesus-following)
Ngugi Wa Thiongo
Nat Turner

Cornel West
, Eddie S. Glaude Jr.

Gayraud Wilmore

Vincent Wimbush

    THANK YOU, again, Dr Leah Fitchue, for the privilege of teaching under your leadership in the D. Min. Program at Palmer Theological Seminary, and the M. Div. Program at Payne Theological Seminary.